Driving while intoxicated, drunk driving, drink-driving, impaired driving…no matter what you call it, it all means the same thing: driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. Statistics state that there were close to 38,000 people who died in traffic crashes in 2008, and of that number, drunk driving fatalities accounted for 32%. Following these figures, someone is killed in an alcohol-impaired driving crash every 45 minutes in the U.S. on average, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
A DUI offense is a harsh one. In Arizona, you will go to jail if you are convicted of DUI due to mandatory state laws, though the amount of jail time depends on your alcohol concentration, DUI history, and the circumstances surrounding your case. For instance, for a first offense, a reading below.15 results in a minimum sentence of 24 hours, while a reading of above .20 means that the minimum jail time is 45 days. Once the State proves that your alcohol concentration met the set amount, you are subject to a jail sentencing. As you can imagine, the punishments grow exponentially depending on the amount of DUI offenses you have received previously; the bottom line is that if you’re drinking, it’s probably in your best interest to avoid driving.
But let’s say you made a mistake, failed a field sobriety test, and now you’re faced with a charge. This is a scary time for any individual since a DUI offense can cause, depending on the situation, a revoked driver’s license or even loss of employment. However, there are several steps you can take in order to provide yourself with as many advantages as possible in your case. The first step is to get in contact with your attorney as soon as possible. Your attorney might recommend taking a blood test as soon as possible after your arrest since the breathalyzers used by many districts can possibly be aging or inaccurate. This may be done in order to ensure that you are given the best chance of receiving an accurate read if you believe your blood alcohol level is not significantly high, but you will need to get an independent test as soon as possible for it to be valid in court. At a hospital, they will test your blood for alcohol concentration and, if it confirms that you are under the legal limit, the Phoenix Prosecutor’s office may dismiss the charge. Your attorney will provide you with more information depending on your situation.
Even if you are unable to receive an independent blood test, the fact that you tried to prove your innocence can be a major advantage in your case. The most important thing to do in a DUI offense is to contact a qualified lawyer as soon as possible. The best Phoenix DUI attorneys are well versed in the ever-changing Arizona DUI laws, so in order to give yourself a fighting chance, be sure to maintain an open line of communication with someone who can truly help you. Even with a DUI charge, there’s always hope; what’s important is for you to make the most of any options you have at your disposal and, at the end of the day, get up and move on.
An Arizona criminal defense attorney with the experience of 20 years in law, Guy will provide you with an outstanding, passionate defense in the face of criminal law charges. For more information about Guy and his mission, contact him here or at (480) 447-1100. Article from articlesbase.com