Hiring Munoz Law Office was the best choice I ever made! Michael went to great lengths to get the best results for my case and I could not be happier. Thank you to Michael and the helpful staff at Muñoz Law Office.
– K. – 4/26/11
Have you been charged with a Mesa, Arizona DUI? Penalties for a conviction are harsh, so you need the guidance of a Mesa DUI attorney to help you through the process. He or she can help you understand what options you have and then formulate a strategy for pursuing the best possible outcome. When looking for a lawyer, you want to look for someone who has specific experience working with a Mesa DUI. That way, they will understand the ins and outs of the system and know what requirements need to be met to prove a Mesa DUI.
Depending on your blood alcohol content, also known as BAC, at the time of your arrest, and the number of previous offenses, your penalties will vary in severity. If you are a first-time offender for a Mesa DUI with a BAC over .08 but lower than .15, you face jail time of 10 to 180 days – with a minimum of 10 consecutive days in jail. You may also be placed on probation for up to 5 years. However, if you agree to get an alcohol or drug evaluation and submit to treatment, the court may suspend 9 of the 10 days. Fines will run approximately $1,800 plus jail costs, so the more jail time is ordered, the more you will pay. The Arizona MVD will also suspend your driver’s license for 90 days, although you may be eligible for a work/school permit after the first 30 days. Additionally, the court may require counseling, community service, and attendance at one or more sessions of the Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Victims Impact Panel. Generally, an ignition interlock device is required for 12 months.
If you had a BAC of over .15 but under .199 for your first offense, this is considered an Extreme DUI in Mesa. You may face 30 to 180 days in jail, with a minimum of 30 consecutive days. The court may suspend 20 of the 30 days if you complete all recommended counseling and education. Fines will be approximately $3,000 plus jail costs, which can amount to thousands more. Your license will be suspended for 90 days, but you may be eligible for a work/school permit after 30 days. Additionally, you may be required to go to counseling, placed on probation for up to 5 years, do community service, and attend one or more sessions of the MADD Victims Panel, and install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for 12 months after your license is reinstated.
You will have a Super Extreme Mesa DUI charge if your BAC is .200 or higher, which can result in 45 to 180 days of jail time with a minimum of 45 consecutive days. In this case, the court is not allowed to suspend any of the minimum required. You will face $3,250 in fines plus jail costs, which will likely amount to thousands more. You will be given a license suspension of 90 days, although you may be allowed to get a work/school permit after 30 days, and once your license is reinstated, you will be required to have an ignition interlock device for 18 months. You may also need to go to counseling, do community service hours, attend sessions of the MADD Victims Impact Panel, and be on probation for up to five years.
Of course, penalties are even tougher if this is not your first Mesa DUI charge. Your third Mesa DUI is considered a felony aggravated DUI, which is a DUI that occurs when your license is suspended or restricted. This is also the case if there is a child under 15 in the car. For felony aggravated DUIs, you face a minimum of 4 months in prison and up to $150,000 in fines, as well as other punishments.
No matter what your situation, you should seek legal counsel from a qualified DUI attorney. There are ways for a Mesa DUI lawyer to fight the charges or to get them reduced. Even if you failed a breathalyzer test, there are many things that can make those results inaccurate such as machine calibration, misuse, and your own body’s physiology. Protect your rights by getting an experienced Mesa DUI lawyer today.