Arizona DUI

If you get arrested with a DUI charge in Arizona you may be overwhelmed thinking about the all the possible outcomes following your DUI case. Most people are not fully aware of the complexity of DUI law.  They either take it too lightly or may fear the worst. However the the outcome of a DUI case depends on the strength of the States investigation, your previous DUI record, severity of your DUI charges and the prevailing DUI laws of the jurisdiction of your arrest.

The harshness of DUI penalties is a way of making it clear to the violators that impaired driving is in no way acceptable by a State. Arizona is no exception to this concept in fact a DUI charge in Arizona is considered to be a serious offence, You may get a DUI in Arizona with a BAC of 0 .08 or higher, and an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more in case you were driving a commercial vehicle.  Further, a person can be convicted of a DUI if they are found to be operating a motor vehicle while impaired to the slightest degree.

There may be different ways used in different states for determining if a person qualifies for a DUI charge. As DUI in the broader terms refers to driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs, the tests chosen to determine the level of impairment may not be restricted to breathing test only to check your BAC, the tests could range from urine tests, breath tests, blood tests or tests of other bodily substances. Your refusal to a BAC in Arizona may result in revocation of your driving license for a period 12 months, or for 2 years on your second or subsequent refusal.

Possible DUI penalties in Arizona

Following is a detail of possible penalties rising out of an Arizona DUI conviction; they may apply to your case in any combination depending on your DUI Charge and on the discretion of the sentencing authority.

First time offense (non aggravated) may result in

  • Jail time of minimum 10 day, can extend to 6 months
  • Revocation of driving license  – up to 90 days
  • Fines up to $2500.00
  • Court charges
  • Installation of  ignition interlock device at violator’s expense
  • Attending and completion of alcohol education course
  • Potential community service

Penalties for Extreme DUI (BAC of .15% or more)

  • Minimum 30-day jail sentence
  • Minimum $250 fine and up
  • Installation of  ignition interlock device at the violator’s  expense
  • Court assessment fees totaling over $2,000
  • Potential community service

Second Offense DUI within 7 years

  • Jail time of minimum 90 days
  • Fines starting with a minimum of $500
  • Revocation of driving license  – one year
  • Installation of  an ignition interlock device at violator’s expense
  • Court assessment fees totaling over $2,000
  • 30 hours of community service

Second Extreme DUI Offense within 7 years

  • Jail time of minimum 120 days
  • Fines starting with a minimum of $500
  • Revocation of driving license  – minimum one year
  • Installation of  an ignition interlock device at violators expense
  • Court assessment fees totaling over $2,000
  • Minimum 30 hours of community service

With so much at stake you have to take your Arizona DUI seriously, do not be tempted to fight it out on your own. You stand a better chance of beating the odds if you hire a seasoned lawyer who practices Arizona DUI law.

Contact Us Today